17927395
A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J. Maas
Release Date: May 3, 2016
Publisher: Bloomsbury
Genres: Fantasy, Romance, Young Adult, New Adult

Note: Although this book is spoiler-free, it will obviously contain spoilers from Book 1 (A Court of Thorns and Roses) so if you haven’t read it yet, make sure you do and come back here after you’re done. Also, if you’re interested on reading my book review regarding Book 1, you may click here.

Summary:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

My Thoughts:

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”

I am pretty sure this is gonna be a very long review that is why I’ve decided to separate it into 5 different parts so it will be more straightforward and direct to the point. Without further ado, let’s begin!

  • PLOT
    this book took place three months after the previous events from the first book. Feyre is now a Fae but still remains human by heart. She went back to the Spring Court with Tamlin and they are starting to plan for their wedding. But of course, nothing remains blissful forever, and the characters undergo some really tough challenges. Feyre has certainly not forgotten the bargain she made from Rhysand and complications bloom from then on.

    > the plot of this book was very fast-paced. It is very gripping and the more you read it, it just keeps on getting better and better. Also, this is a really long book with 600+ pages but I guarantee you that there was never once a dull, boring scene. 
  • CHARACTERS
    >
    there are lots of new characters and believe me when I say that. We definitely lacked side characters on Book 1 but this time, we are gifted with more MAJOR side characters. Normally, these side characters would appear to have dull personality but on this book, trust me, this book would not be as good and as badass if it weren’t for them. They definitely made this book even more livelier.

    > now onto our main characters:
    1. Feyre
    You could definitely see a major character development going on with her as the book progresses. She was very a bit annoying on the first book but here, she’s totally like a new person (well she is, the fact that she became a Fae). You could see that she is still damaged from Amarantha’s clutches, and she is having a hard time adjusting with her new body but she still tries so hard to be selfless, determined, and have a lot of perseverance. I personally enjoyed reading from her point of view and I could relate to her on the highest possible level. What I think I really loved about her is that she remained true to herself despite the transformation that she has went through – you could still see the roots of her old self within her.

    2. Rhysand
    I loved him on Book 1 and I definitely loved him even more now. We definitely saw more about him on this book – his backstory and why he had this “awful” personality and traits on Book 1. I always looked forward to his scenes on the book (which is basically almost the entirety of the book) and ugh i just can’t *implodes*
    Also, he was a very loyal character, not only to Feyre, but basically to his inner circle and court.

    3. Tamlin
    I could not relate to him. AT ALL.
    I liked him on the first book, but now I feel like he has been too blinded and poisoned  by love and he just transformed into this whole new person that I cannot really comprehend anymore.

    4. Lucien
    Together with Tamlin, he has very few scenes on this book. I loved him on Book 1 but now if I were to rate him from 1-10, I’d give him a 5. I didn’t love him but I didn’t hate him as well. Kind of on the neutral side, perhaps?

  • WORLD BUILDING
    Unlike on the first book, we were only stuck with Spring Court and Under the Mountain, but now we have been blessed enough to be introduced to the other courts as well – all of which is beautifully described. We also get to know their politics, how they are being run, and the power that each court possesses.
  • WRITING
    The writing on this book was very fabulous. It was well written, but also, it was kind of steamy. I picked up this book knowing it’s a Young Adult one but holy cow, when I read it, it was definitely New Adult. There were definitely some graphic scenes but I’m not gonna lie, my feels were very very satisfied.
  • THEMES
    One of the things that I really loved and enjoyed about this book are the elements comprising it. This book tackled the topic of “PTSD” very well, especially on Feyre’s part. Another topic that was brought up was the “effects of having toxic relationships”. I’m not gonna elaborate it any further for it will be much better if you read it from the book. There are also a lot of new female characters on this book so you could see “women empowerment” all over.

OVERALL
It was definitely a fantastic read. The ending was not a cliffhanger, but it was something that would really want you to pick up the next book asap. Everything was executed well on this book and I loved every bit of it. This book will not let you down, I promise. 

I rated this book 5/5 stars.

 

BONUS: Here are some of the quotes that I really loved!

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”

 

“No one was my master— but I might be master of everything, if I wished. If I dared.”

 

“Hello, Feyre darling.”

 

“When you spend so long trapped in darkness, you find that the darkness begins to stare back.”

 

“The power did not belong to the High Lords. Not any longer. It belonged to me – as I belonged only to me, as my future was mine to decide, to forge.”

 


Who else has been going through the ACOMAF tags on tumblr??? WAY TOO MANY FEELS! Tell me what you think about this book on the comments below!

If you haven’t read this one yet, I hope I convinced you enough to put it on your TBR list !

Much love,
camyll jewel wordpre

 

 

 

Leave a comment