confess
Confess by Colleen Hoover
Release Date: March 10, 2015
Publisher: Atria Books
Genres: New Adult, Romance, Contemporary
Pages: 306 pages

Summary:
Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry.

 For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything important to Auburn, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it.

 The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…

 

My Thoughts:

“I’ll love you forever. Even when I can’t.”

FRESH, COMPELLING AND HEART-RENDING.

The story follows a girl named Auburn who, at the age of 21, her life was already hanging by the thread in the edge of a cliff. With just a single mistake, her world can come crashing down. One day, as she was looking for another part-time job, she comes across a building whose windows were covered with small scraps of papers in various shapes and sizes. As she takes a closer look, she then discovers that these are confessions of different people, sent anonymously. And then came Owen, a talented artist who’s undeniably attractive and makes you want to say “OMG!”(you’ll get what I mean when you read the book). Auburn wasn’t certainly expecting to find an artist who practically begged her to work for him when she desperately needed a job. What she didn’t know is he was holding back secrets from her­ – secrets that could destroy her and her goals in life with just a blink of an eye.

The book switches perspectives between Auburn and Owen. It’s always nice to read from different characters’ point of views for we get to know what they really are feeling and experiencing. Owen is a quirky, complex character, while Auburn is very secure and has an apprehensive personality. I also loved how you can really see and feel the connection between them, and they’re not just characters that are thrown together and go through “insta-love”, a very famous phenomenon happening in most contemporary books.

The plot is very gripping that you’d be able to finish the book with just one sitting. Colleen Hoover did a very great job in writing the story, as well as incorporating real artworks and real confessions sent by anonymous people. The characters and plot developments really kept me reading and I was very eager to find out how everything was going to turn out. There are revelations that really made me tear up, and this book honestly earned a very special place in my heart.

Overall, Confess was a very astounding and remarkable read. Not only the book talks about romance, but as well as courage, fate, lies, confessions and survival. I highly recommend this if you’re looking for a realistic and an eye-opener kind of book.

I rated this book 5/5 stars.


Have you guys read this book yet? What are your thoughts about it? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Much love,
camyll jewel wordpre

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Confess by Colleen Hoover

  1. Aaaah I really need to jump on the Colleen Hoover band wagon soon!! I’ve heard such great things about Confess and your shining review has made me want to pick it up straight away!! The cover of this book is also just stunning, the colours are gorgeous! An amazing review Camyll, I loved reading your opinions! -A xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve had my eye on this book for a while but I haven’t had a chance to pick it up yet. The cover of this book is spectacular and I heard that the book also contains some really beautiful illustrations! I’m excited to pick up this book soon, especially with your recommendation!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Apart from it’s gorgeous cover, I need to read this book for the amazing story within! Your review has me anticipating reading it, so it’s definitely going on my list of books to buy before the year ends!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. My first Colleen Hoover book was a miss due to the cheating themes, but I think I like the sound of Confess a lot more. I love the sound of incorporation of artworks into the story. Thank you for this fantastic review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

