Hush,hush
Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick
Release Date: October 13, 2009
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Genres: YA, Fantasy, Paranormal
Pages: 391

Summary:
A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.  

My Thoughts:
Okay, so before I picked up this book, I heard a lot of positive and negative feedbacks about the series. Let me just clear that none of their opinions kept me from reading it. I was not spoiled or aware of the plot twists so this was a fresh read for me.

Where to start? The story follows Nora Grey who lives a normal life with her mother and best friend, Vee. One day at school, their Coach decides to change their seating arrangement in Biology class, and Nora was stuck with Patch, her new lab partner. Patch was a very mysterious guy and barely talked to anyone. In the few words they have exchanged, Nora felt something alien inside her. She couldn’t stand him because of his arrogance and cockiness, but at the same time, she still finds herself unbelievably drawn to him.

After the day that Patch walked into Nora’s life, new things started to occur, trouble filled the air, and along those were meeting new people and discovering a new world. She felt the need to know more about Patch, but the question is, was she ready to know?

This book initially reminded me of Cassandra Clare’s The Mortal Instruments Series. Both books are almost very the same. Girl meets a dangerous boy and is dragged into this new unfamiliar world with series of scary events to follow. Plus, there are also Angels and Nephilims on this book. But I’m not saying that they have completely the same stories. The plots are entirely different from one another.

Our heroine on this book is Nora Grey and she is very geeky with no interest in boys. She is very independent and has a mind of her own. She’s a curious girl and she questions a lot of things which makes her a perfect target for Patch.

Speaking of Patch, he is a bad boy, dark, intriguing and very arrogant. He actually reminded me of Jace Herondale from TMI Series and William Herondale from TID Trilogy(both Cassie Clare’s works). Though Patch is like their inferior version because obviously I loved Jace and Will more(Ha! But seriously, you’d understand me if you read the books). Okay, going back to Patch, he was very alluring and has the mysterious thing going for him all the way. He’s mostly the source of plot twists on the book.

Did I love the romance between Nora and Patch? Yes. They keep on bickering all the time and it’s so much fun to read. They balance each other, and their witty and sarcastic remarks really made me laugh.

I can’t say the plot was rich. The beginning was kind of slow-paced but once you’ve reached the peak, everything gets really exciting.

The writing style was not bad but not too good either. It’s very easy to read. I also loved the characters, even the annoying ones. Because if a character really gets on your nerves, it means that it’s a good book.

Overall, I think that this book was a good start. The ending left me thirsting for the second book which is Crescendo. I’ll get into it immediately so watch out for my next review about it soon. 🙂

I rated this book 4/5 stars.

Here are my favorite quotes from the book:

“The problem with human attraction is not knowing if it will be returned.”

“Humans are vulnerable because they’re capable of being hurt.”

“But if I hadn’t fallen, I wouldn’t have met you.”

“Because I thought I was in love. And when you think you’re in love, you are willing to stick it out and make it work until it is love.

“One more secret smile. One more shared laugh. One more electric kiss. Finding him was like finding someone I didn’t know I was searching for.”

“Keep in mind that people change, but the past doesn’t.”

7 thoughts on “Book Review: Hush, Hush by Becca Fitzpatrick

Leave a Reply

